David’s back

Hi, this will just be short but I’m back. I have been able to text so thought I’d give blogging a try. Sorry if there’s lots of spelling mistakes. I was pleased to see England draw the cricket. We shouldn’t be getting beat by New Zealand. I hope to show the same resilience. So far today I have walked 160m two laps of the RMU. Hoping to get at least one more. I have had more food today and I’m just waiting for some confirmation about transport home which is looking more and more like tomorrow. I didn’t sleep at all last night so I’m quite tired today but still can’t sleep. I don’t think this is as funny as Katie’s blogs or as informative as Dicks but do enjoy.

68 Responses to “David’s back”


  1. 1 Christine March 26, 2013 at 11:29 am

    Welcome back, Dave! Your OBOs have done a great job but it is so great to have you back with your distinctive blogging style. (I’d like to think that I can tell when it is you blogging.) What a great start to your day. Keep it up and enjoy home :)
    Lots of love
    C xx

  2. 2 Lizzie March 26, 2013 at 11:32 am

    You seem to be getting closer and closer to that Wagamamas… Hoorah!!

    • 3 Lizzie March 26, 2013 at 11:34 am

      By the way, sleeping at night is overrated. Try and enjoy the fact you can sleep whenever you damn well feel like it. Have you got an eye mask? That helps me when I try to sleep in the daytime.

  3. 4 mum March 26, 2013 at 11:36 am

    Well that took me by surprise when the blog popped into my inbox! We were.just talking about what to put on today’s blog! You snuck that one in Dave great to see xxxx

    • 5 Kate Adamson March 26, 2013 at 3:26 pm

      Haha that’s my boy! sneaky sneaky!!! When I read it I was like ‘oooh I just talked to dick about maybe getting him to write his own or even put a few thoughts into it’ I wasn’t expecting this… or to see it so soon!!!

  4. 6 Karen March 26, 2013 at 11:40 am

    Great to see you blogging all at morsons are keeping up to date via the blog so keep it up just remember small steps get you just as far as big strides love to you all Karen xx

  5. 7 denisetaylorson March 26, 2013 at 11:41 am

    this sounds like great progress showing grit and determination. congratulations on getting closer and closer to your goal of getting back to the flat. you will do it
    x Denise

  6. 8 Louisa March 26, 2013 at 11:41 am

    May not be as funny or informative but by far my favourite blog! Great to hear David’s back! Enjoy your trip home tomorrow! xxx

  7. 9 Camila Martin March 26, 2013 at 11:59 am

    Hi Dave, I am a friend of Rach’s from uni..I have been following your blog from the start but always stayed silent! I am very pleased to see you are able to blog again and that you are getting much closer to your Wagamamas and a visit home! It is my birthday today and I have asked for a onesie (a little behind everyone else – I know!) but having seen your friend’s white tiger onesie I hope mine is as good as that!!
    Hope you manage to get some sleep and looking forward to your next blog!
    Camila x

  8. 10 Anne & Malcolm Alden March 26, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    What an achiever you are, David! You seem to be doing more and more each day, in spite of the lack of sleep, and it is wonderful to have you back blogging again. Lets hope they can sort out your transport soon and you can get back to your flat. Fingers crossed, that will be very soon!
    Lots of love and keep up the good work – Anne & Malc xx

  9. 11 Joanne March 26, 2013 at 12:28 pm

    “Guess who’s back, back again. David’s back, tell a friend.”

    Totes gonna have Emineminem stuck in my head for the rest of the day – thanks Dave!!!

    Xxx

    • 12 Rach Becker March 26, 2013 at 3:05 pm

      I have this stuck in my head too, damn you Jo!

      Great to hear from you Dave, in the words of Sinead O’Connor… ‘nothing compares you too!’

      Hope you get back to the flat and laze on your mega settee! Maybe you could watch Crazy, Stupid, Love. I know how much you like that film :)

      Loves xxx

  10. 14 Bernie March 26, 2013 at 12:28 pm

    Hey hey
    Welcome back David. Great to hear from you. The stand ins were ok but there is no substitute for the real thing!! (Apologies and suitable grovelling to kt and dick).

    We were talking about you at the weekend because we were at that well know Cumbrian music festival, the bowness bay blues festival and there was a great band on from Workington called the bullfrogs and we wondered if any of you had heard of them. We were really there to support one if Paul’s friends who is in a band called the elderly brothers soon to be renamed the very elderly brothers!!
    Anyway David keep it up lots of love Bernie Pam and Jill xx

  11. 15 Chris Lancaster March 26, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    Hi Dave

    Great to hear from the man himself, (no offence Dick and Katie)!

    Lots of love

    Chris x

  12. 16 Grandma and Dads March 26, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Welcome back to blogging, it was so good to read words from your own delicate hands, how is the walking and eating going today love you lots again looking forward to seeing how you get on, on your day out, I was going to tell you about the England but you got there before me.
    Lots N lots of love
    Grandma and Dads
    xxxx

  13. 17 Stephen Adamson March 26, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    Hi Dave!

    You’re back!!! I’m sure KT and Dick will celebrate that too!

    Great to hear from you!

    xxxxxxxxxxx

  14. 18 Dick March 26, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    I take it a compliment about me being informative re blogging but not that happy about Katie’s, being funnier and how do you know which bits are hers.
    Huff !

    • 19 Kate Adamson March 26, 2013 at 3:27 pm

      Hahahaha I’m the funny one!!

      No… I have to admit, it was a team effort and I think it’s only fair to say the funny times also came from dickypoos too!!! :) maybe now we won’t have as much to do ey dick?! what we going to dooooo?!! xx

  15. 20 Sylwia March 26, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    Excellent!!!! I’m so proud of you!!!! I like your blog best because is written by you…

    Kocham Cie
    Sylwia xxx

  16. 21 Hazel March 26, 2013 at 1:12 pm

    Always good to he

  17. 22 Hazel March 26, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    Sorry, pressed go too quickly.
    Always good to hear from the man himself. The end of the cricket sounds like a great match. Total joke we were in that position anyway but I always love it when Monty has to get involved to save the day! Still improvements need to be made but the Aussie press have layed into their cricket team so we’ll see what happens in the ashes. They’ve even joked about making New Zealand an Aussie state to help them out!
    Fingers crossed for transport tomorrow.
    Xx

  18. 23 Barbara March 26, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    Great to hear from you :-) Just completing a blog about you to try & help with fundraising etc, so hopefully you’ll get a few more visitors over the next few weeks

    Good luck with the great homecoming tomorrow! Hope it happens xxx

  19. 25 Sue & Jack adamson March 26, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    Brilliant to have you back blogging again,your determination knows no bounds! Lets hope that the transport is fixed and you get home tomorrow. I bet your Mum has been scurrying around tidying up for you – as if you would care so long as you are home.All our love as always N & P xxx.

  20. 26 Ken Moore March 26, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    Well done, Dave!
    I turned on the radio at about 1.00 am and heard that England were around 150-odd for 6 and promptly turned it off. Oh, ye of little faith! I should have stuck with it and could have dug the memsahib in the ribs every few minutes so that she could also enjoy the fight back. Actually, England’s achievement pales into insignificance compared with your 160 m hike!
    I see your Rugby team could not handle the snow at the weekend! They now have 3 games in 11 days over Easter so that will be a test, especially since they play Catalans on Easter Monday – at least the weather should be better!
    Hoppers’ game was again postponed on Saturday – the opposition could not get here so at this rate we’ll shall still be playing in July!
    Hope the escape comes off!

  21. 27 Aneta March 26, 2013 at 2:26 pm

    Hi David I’m so so happy to see you’re back on blog !Good job! Hope tomorrow you will be at your own flat laying down on sofa and watching nice programme :) xxx

  22. 28 Judy March 26, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    David WELCOME BACK, it’s wonderful that you are back (I have enjoyed Katie and Dick’s efforts though but don’t tell Dick, Ian won’t want him to be unbearable!). The progress you are making is outstanding, you have achieved so much in so few days. The world will soon be your oyster again and you’ll be back at Wagamamas before you know it. Btw there’s one just around the corner from here so if you feel like a trip…….. With love and happy dancing vibes :-)

  23. 29 Al March 26, 2013 at 3:13 pm

    Hi David. You don’t know me. My name is Al and I live in Virginia Beach, Virginia. Barbara Molony mentioned your blog on her post so I thought I would drop by and say hello and tell you how inspired I am by what you are doing.

    Congratulations on the teacher certification. From what I’ve read, there are some lucky students ahead in your future.

    Hope you continue to be strong and convalesce well so the rest of the ALL-TC patients can take heart form your experience.

    Best wishes from the USA!

  24. 30 Grandma & Dads March 26, 2013 at 3:33 pm

    Nothing really to do with your last blog but just to tell you Jonathan Creek is on on Easter Monday a new one so thought you and Katie would like to watch it, as I know you watched the old ones. Lots of love always grandma and dads

  25. 35 Lyn lancaster March 26, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    Hi David
    Great to hear from the man himself. Glad u are feeling up to writing even though there is no sleep, have a cat nap when u need one.
    Garry was going to try and match the meters you walk by miles on his bike but as you are doing amazingly well and he is not as fit or as young as he use to be he might just have to match meter for meter.
    Nice to here from you keep up the good work.
    Love from all at Whitehaven

    Garry told me to say he did 14 miles today!!!!!!!

  26. 37 Linda Crabtree March 26, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    Fab work David. Good on you meeting each challenge with gusto and humour. Roll on home visit. Song for today Homeward Bound. Enjoy. David & Linda xxxx

  27. 38 Graham Harris March 26, 2013 at 5:30 pm

    Fantastic lymphoma twin we will have you playing for the strollers yet

  28. 39 Janice March 26, 2013 at 7:24 pm

    Hi David, glad to see you are progressing. I am off Cruising tomorrow and as I will be visiting the wailing wall I will pop a prayer in for you and of course will try my best to wail. Take care.

  29. 40 Steph Commins March 26, 2013 at 9:00 pm

    Welcome back! I’m sure even though Katie and Dick have been doing a great job at filling in everyone will be super happy to see a blog from you Dave =)..
    I had a flat full of boys yelling and throwing things at the tv yesterday during the last part of that cricket match… There weren’t many happy kiwis!
    Dad still managed to call up so he could talk to Brad (bf) and rub salt in the wound by reminding him how close NZ were to winning and how England didn’t let them!
    Well done on the laps! I hope you enjoy your trip home tomorrow =)
    Love you heaps xx Steph

  30. 41 claire kok March 26, 2013 at 9:07 pm

    Hi David,
    It’s Claire Kok, Jack and Sue have been keeping my parents updated with your progress and my Mum suggested I look at your blog! It’s fantastic and so very inspiring! I have loved listening to all your songs….. especially ‘keep on running’ I will think of that song during future marathons as I am a very keen runner!
    Congratulations on managing 160m, that’s fantastic…… I actually think it could be further than my Dad manages in one day at the moment after his knee replacement!! He has been managing to watch any sport on sky tv though!!
    All the kok family wish you a fantastic day in your flat!
    Lots of love to you and your team,
    Claire x x x

  31. 42 Lisa Vinten March 26, 2013 at 9:14 pm

    Hi David,

    Reading your blog put a smile on my face, really good to hear that you’re back. Your supreme blogging skills have been missed (sorry OBOs)!

    And 160m is awesome, you’re conquering new heights every day! Wagamammas is most definitely calling.

    Enjoy your trip home, sitting on your own sofa, a kip in your own bed…nothing quite like it. You’ll be counting sheep (or easter bunnies?) in no time.

    All the best
    Lisa
    X

  32. 43 Rob Burrow March 26, 2013 at 9:19 pm

    Hi David, Great to hear your Rhinos fan. I just want to wish you all best and hope you understand just how much i admire your bravery and fight. The way you are fighting adversity is an inspiration to anyone and without doubt myself. I am yet to score a try this season but i assure you when i do it will be for you. Keep smiling mate, my thoughts are with you. Rob

  33. 45 Claire Kok March 26, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    Hi David,
    It’s Claire Kok, Jack and Sue have been keeping my parents updated with your progress and my Mum suggested I look at your blog! It’s fantastic and so very inspiring! I have loved listening to all your songs….. especially ‘keep on running’ I will think of that song during future marathons as I am a very keen runner!
    Congratulations on managing 160m, that’s fantastic…… I actually think it could be further than my Dad manages in one day at the moment after his knee replacement!! He has been managing to watch any sport on sky tv though!!
    All the Kok family wish you a fantastic day in your flat!
    Lots of love to you and your team,
    Claire x x x

  34. 46 Rachel Adamson March 26, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    Sleep is for wimps and that certainly isn’t you David. You make me immensely proud to be your Aunty. You are the most determined, strongest person I know. I hope you know how many people love you! Hope you manage to get home tomorrow, I know it means a lot to you xxx

  35. 47 Lorna, How, Aimee and Soph March 26, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    The main man, amazing! I honestly think you can achieve anything you put your mind to David, now “get to sleep!!!” and save all that energy for tomorrow. Have a fab day, luv and hugs from the Farrars.
    P.s.Hope Dick can manage the stairs

  36. 48 Sue & Jack adamson March 26, 2013 at 10:54 pm

    HI David, I think you could do with some of that funny green Juice that you used to drink in Claire,s juice bar in Leeds – it might give you the energy you need. We hope you sleep well tonight and have sweet dreams of tomorrow in your flat. Love as always N & P. xxx

  37. 49 Tess O'C March 26, 2013 at 11:04 pm

    Hey Dave

    Just been reading your blog and think you’re bloody amazing. Nice one on the laps, you’ll def get some shut eye tonight.

    Look forward to next installment!

    Miss you guys xx

    p.s was that THE rob burrows? I remember the poster in the kitchen :)

  38. 50 Doug Haines March 27, 2013 at 12:30 am

    Adamson,

    As Rocky says to Appollo Creed in Rocky IV (at the start when Appollo does the favour for Rocky) – “Just keep punching Appollo”!! Same to you dude – keep punching.

    Anyway…..

    Haines & Adamson 10S Best Moments:

    Adamson doing registration every day in the freezing cold whilst I took the piss out of Sharmila’s ludicrous attire.

    Friday morning quiz – Haines on questions; Adamson on delivery. Topman revenue anyone!?

    Igor saying have a good say sirs (every day)

    Adamson bossing the rubix cube challenge and Luke Vella loving it

    Haines dominating vocally – Adamson dominating the admin (admittedly that’s not a “moment”)

    Watching Laurence come in at 9:00am every day!!!

    The assembly – about a thousand times better than Sally Pym’s total non-event.

    Great banter from Rob Burrow by the way – cool guy!

    I wanna come see you this week man – let me know when xxxx

  39. 53 grahamcnz March 27, 2013 at 6:43 am

    Good to see you writing again, and well done on the 160M
    It was a tremendous effort by England being so far behind the kiwi’s thought they had it in the bag. Their gonna have a tough time of it in England.
    Jackson did cricket this season and he did quite well considering it was his first time. If he get really good I’m going to have to send him to England can’t have me flying the english flag and him playing for New Zealand. But thats a long time away. He’s registered for Rugby so we will have to see how aggressive he is on the field as this year it’s contact rugby.
    Keep up the good work.

  40. 54 Ali March 27, 2013 at 7:09 am

    Great to see a David blog being written . I hope the great escape plan works . Also thank you for the tips on what to watch on Easter weekend , sadly with the girls I’m more a in the night garden woman . Take it easy no 14 miles (yet )

    Love Ali

  41. 55 jackie March 27, 2013 at 7:12 am

    Good Morning Dave,
    Great news that you have been able to blog yourself, and delighted that you should be able to go back to your flat today – just think, as its your flat, you will be in charge of Dick, Jan and Katie – but dont let it go to your head lol.have a brilliant trip out,hope you all have fun. it will be yet another milestone that you have reached. Well Done !! best wishes, steve and Jackie

  42. 56 Sue & Jack adamson March 27, 2013 at 8:14 am

    Hi Dave,
    Hope the escape goes well! good to hear from your followers in Leeds [ Claire and Tattoo ] Luv N&P

  43. 57 Chris Baldock March 27, 2013 at 8:49 am

    Ahar! Welcome back to the blogosphere young Adamson. One might say that you have the eye of the tiger? I hope you didn’t knock any old biddies down on your way round!The England football match was a disappointment last night. No surprise. I watched Suits last night which may rival Friday Night Lights as the best series on tv at the moment. If you find yourself hankering for some US Lawyer drama then let me know and i’ll drop it round. Will keep an eye out for today’s blog.

    Money raised so far: £507

    http://www.justgiving.com/Christopher-Baldock

  44. 59 Aneta March 27, 2013 at 9:20 am

    Good morning Dave :) Have a lovely time at home! Hugs & kisses from us xxx :*

  45. 60 James Kok March 27, 2013 at 9:24 am

    Morning David,
    Really love the blog and enjoying the inspirational song choices. Just to let you know your blog has been posted on the Leeds Rhinos Facebook and Twitter pages. The link is
    https://en-gb.facebook.com/LeedsRhinosOfficial?rf=110978442261008.
    You truly are an inspiration to lots and lots of people.

    James(Kok) and Emma

    • 61 Barbara March 27, 2013 at 4:27 pm

      Katie/Sylvie/Dick, you need to update Davids ‘About Me’ page as it doesn’t have current information on there & this is the page that the above link goes to.
      Contact me on FB if you would like me to talk you through how to do it

      xxx

  46. 62 claire kok March 27, 2013 at 10:48 am

    WOW a comment from Rob Burrow… That’s fantastic!!!It’s snowing in Leeds today so I bet training is cold!!!!
    Sue & Jack, as nutritious as the wheatgrass shots are, they don’t taste as good as chocolate!!!
    Have a great day at your flat David x x
    PS. I think David’s blog may be the new Facebook…. it’s addictive!! x x

  47. 63 Chris clarkson March 27, 2013 at 11:32 am

    Hey dave would just like to wish you all the best and remind you to keep smiling :) hope you can get some sleep soon, take care mate

    Chris, Leeds Rhinos

  48. 65 Lisa Vinten March 27, 2013 at 12:07 pm

    Thinking you might have achieved minor celebrity status David?! ;-)

  49. 66 Dave Lancaster March 27, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    Hi Dave,
    I understand that the great escape has happened, was this by motorbike or boat? 2 songs for the day ( I think Dick or your mam may have to help with these) I’m Free by The Who & Davy’s on the road again by Manfred Mann. Oldies but goodies.

  50. 67 Rich C March 27, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    Dave

    Welcome back mate! Whether you get inspiration from Matty Prior or Stuart Broad batting for an hour and a half before getting off the mark (!) it doesn’t matter. You find inspirations in strange places, just like numerous people who will have stumbled over your blog and gained inspiration from you. For yourself, or for these people the patience, dedication and love you have shown knows no bounds. Your family is immensely proud of you and I am humbled and touched by your scribes. Keep searching mate and stay strong. Lots of love – Rich, Charlie & Harry xx

  51. 68 Norma April 17, 2013 at 8:52 am

    This page really has all the info I wanted about this subject and
    didn’t know who to ask.


Leave a Reply

The whole story:

Find something specific:

www.justgiving.com/dave-adamson

75 mile bikeathon for Leukaemia Lymphoma ResearchSeptember 16th, 2012
Sponsor me please!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

